Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 21st, 2009

Crepes and Christmas Markets

Today we went to Strasbourg, France and went to some amazing Christmas markets! 

Christmas Markets are huge here.  They have tons of vendors that sell everything from scarfs to ornaments to amazing baked goods.  The markets are full of people shopping and eating yummy goods.  I was not about to miss out on the opportunity to eat an amazing local treat.  I could not think of anything more appropriate to eat in France than this:

Smoothering the crepe with nutella!

If you’re happy and you know it show your chocolate covered hands!

We also visited a Cathedral

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I was that warm I would be smiling too!  Hot orange juice and spices is a favorite here – and it’s good! 

Cathedral of St. Lawrence

This is the Roman remains of the city gate in Trier, Germany.   Here is a pic of my Mom – I think!

Me, my Aunt Debbie and sister all drinking Gluhwein.  It is spiced red wine severed hot – a German treat.  It was good, but too sweet for me.  It was nice just to have something – ANYTHING warm.  It is so cold here I having been wearing a minimum of 3 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of gloves and I feel blessed after the day is over and my toes have de-thawed.  It has been snowing here “enough to meet the band” (Aunt Deb’s description).  But seeing all these amazing things, trying all these amazing treats and spending time with the fam has is making for a wonderful Christmas break.

Read Full Post »